Shrimp Ceviche

When she visits, my mother gives me tomatoes and lemons from her garden.  I have been making lemonade, lemon bars, getting lemon zest…safe to say, I always need lemon juice, so I juice them every few days. I have a jar of lemon juice on reserve in the fridge.

This visit, one of the tomatoes had been poked during transport, so I knew I had to do something with it sooner rather than later. I cut it, and two others, up into small chunks. I had a white onion diced up and mixed it together, thinking I’d make a pico de gallo…alas, we didn’t have any cilantro, but did have some parsley. I gave up on the pico de gallo, but the  imaginary taste lingered. I decided shrimp ceviche was a better way to go. After looking up different recipes online and assessing what we already had, I decided to do the following:

Get 1 lb. of cooked bay shrimp and 8 limes.

Rinse the shrimp and put them in the bottom of a glass casserole dish, cover it in all the juice from the limes. Then, put about 1/2 a cup of lemon juice and 2 cups of the tomato/onion mixture. Sprinkle some freshly ground black pepper and chopped parsley, cover it in plastic wrap, and stick it in the fridge overnight.

The next day, I dug into my shrimp ceviche. It was really tart and delicious!

The only regrettable thing about having it as a meal is that I didn’t have the foresight to get beer to have as an accompaniment.

The key is using fresh ingredients – granted, the bay shrimp was already cooked.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup lemon juice (4 store-bought or 1 from my mom’s magical tree)
  • juice from 8 limes
  • 1 cup chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon chopped parsley
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 lb. cooked bay shrimp

I know a lot of people opt to add tabasco sauce, but I’m not a huge fan of it in this context. Next time, I’ll try adding a chile for a little kick…maybe avocado too…hmmm.

I still have about 2 cups of leftover tomato/onion mix. Still haven’t decided what to do with it.

About Rickie

Just a girl who likes to teach kids, create designs, upcycle, peruse eateries, cook, watch / make / hear music, cuddle with her cats and a bunch of other stuff.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shrimp Ceviche

  1. Mmmm this looks delicious, and perfect for a summer day! I will definitely be trying this out! I love the way you describe the food and preparation- very description and scrumptious sounding : )

    keep it up!

    And let me know what you think of my food blog!

    http://berrygoodeats.wordpress.com/

  2. Pingback: Four ‘N 20′s Californian | To Nom or Not to Nom

  3. Pingback: The Best Eggs | To Nom or Not to Nom

Leave a Reply

