Four ‘N 20’s Californian

In case you were wondering, I ended up sauteing the rest of the tomato/onion mix from yesterday in a marinara sauce.

After yesterday’s post, I decided to upload the images from my phone (truth be told, uploading images is one of the most “I’ll do it later” tasks I have. But I digress) and came across a couple of photos I’d snapped of one of my favorite sandwiches: The Californian from Four ‘N 20.

I can’t tell you how blase I was about tuna melts before this. Tuna salad? Meh. Childhood memories stir up images of greyish-pink mush from the school cafeteria (it had unappetizing chunks of relish, but I ate it anyway. A kid’s gotta get energy to play four-square and dodgeball, afterall).

If you want to save yourself from greasy fingers, use a knife and fork.

Let’s get back to this sandwich, scandalously-clad in  sourdough bread, buttered and toasted perfectly. The toast is remeniscent of Marilyn Monroe, standing over an air duct and pretending to hold her skirt down in vain. The insides of this sandwich always pop out.

Biting into barely-there bread offers a satisfying bit of crispness, then your teeth are met quickly with alfalfa sprouts, guacamole, swiss cheese, and, of course, tuna salad. I wish I could tell you I’ve analyzed what is in this tuna salad that makes it awesome, but truth be told, I gobble the sandwich up quite rapidly after it arrives. I’m surprised I had the restraint to take photos of it, to be honest.

The pickles are great, too! Super sour. Mmm.

If you’re like me and feel a bit guilty about eating something quite so decadent, you may opt to order fresh fruit instead of french fries. Exercising proper nomming restraint will leave you with 1/3 of the sandwich as a lovely leftover snack. Yum.

About Rickie

Just a girl who likes to teach kids, create designs, upcycle, peruse eateries, cook, watch / make / hear music, cuddle with her cats and a bunch of other stuff.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

