Hungry for Brains

One of my favorite things about school was, not surprisingly, making Food That Looked Like Stuff.

I remember my middle school Biology teacher telling us that we all had to make models of plant cells, in order to have an excuse to have a ‘party.’

Gross.

Everyone used Jell-o. We had pizza delivered. Someone brought soda (It’s funny how ‘party’ really means ‘time to eat junk food’ when you’re a kid).

Anyhow, I thought the plant cell models were kind of lame, and I wasn’t interested in eating it, either. I’ve never been a fan of marshmallow or canned fruit in Jell-o. That just seemed disgusting. Why would anyone want to make a Jell-o salad, anyway?

Braaaaaains

But with Halloween coming up this month, I started thinking about festive foods. Jell-o can be A-ok with the right mold. For example, a brightly-colored, pink Jell-o brain. I mean, who wouldn’t want to eat such a fun piece of Jell-o, right? The trick is not using a color that’s too realistic. Most folk don’t find actual brains too appetizing, but it is fun to play zombie make-believe.

There are people out there who’d like to eat food that looks like dismembered body parts. While I appreciate the artistry involved, I’m not quite there yet.

About Rickie

Just a girl who likes to teach kids, create designs, upcycle, peruse eateries, cook, watch / make / hear music, cuddle with her cats and a bunch of other stuff.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

