On Solids!

This past weekend, I was invited to celebrate my friend’s birthday. She decided to have a lunch and dinner gathering for it. I had a lot of fun, met some really cool folks, and ate some outstanding food. Being a considerate foodie, she decided to have vegan lunch at Cru and meaty dinner at Animal. It was such a treat for me to go out for several reasons, one of which was that I finally got to eat solid food! It was a bit difficult to eat, but I was able to partake in just about anything that was offered to me if I cut it up into smaller bites.

For lunch, I ordered the Spring Roll, Spinach Apple Ginger Cucumber Juice, and had a few bites of the Ravioli Cruda and birthday-girl-surprise Chocolate Truffle Cake. My lunch was awesome. It was also really pretty.

Very tasty

All of these things were phenomenal, especially considering that I’ve been having porridge and oatmeal everyday for the last two weeks. I have been to several vegan eateries, but I must say that Cru is by far the best. Typically, vegan food tends to be served by almost-creepy, forgetful waiters. Hot food is lukewarm by the time it arrives, and the more daring dishes are disappointing. Cru was not typical in this sense. The prices were also reasonable. That Chocolate Truffle cake was pure decadence – literally, like a bunch of truffles packed into a cake slice shape.

Several hours later, we went to Animal, a very meat-friendly restaurant. I ordered the $18 Uni dish. It consisted of three delicate slices of cucumber, topped with seasoned sea urchin. I put the first piece in my mouth, savoring every little nuance of flavor. Each successive piece was amazing. Very tasty stuff, but I was still ravenous afterward. Luckily, other attendees that had gotten larger food generously offered me some of their dishes. All in all, very tasty but very expensive food. Animal is a good place to take a date, if you are trying to impress – reservations are difficult to get at a reasonable time, there is no sign out front, the menu changes daily, the beer list is a bit exotic, and prices are kind of steep. If you want to go with chums, I suggest visiting In-N-Out beforehand, then visiting afterward  and savoring the food. It’s impractical to go there for a filling meal.

About Rickie

Just a girl who likes to teach kids, create designs, upcycle, peruse eateries, cook, watch / make / hear music, cuddle with her cats and a bunch of other stuff.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

