Detoxing, Day One

It’s been awhile since my last post…but to be fair, a lot has been going on in my life. It’s hard to keep up with this type of thing, what with relocating, a new part time job, nonstop social activity, events, and job searching. I’m finally starting to settle into my new home, and have decided to do a detox. Basically, it’s a variation of the Master Cleanse. I found the lemonade recipe awhile back while perusing detox methods.

Master Cleanse Lemonade

  • 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons of grade B maple syrup
  • 2 dashes cayenne pepper powder
  • 10-12 ounces of filtered water

Basically, I sip on the lemonade throughout the day and drink water in between. Also, twice a day I am having Psyllium Husks (2 tablespoons) with water. I wait an hour before I take my vitamins in the morning.

So far, so good. I made sure to start this detox on my day off from work. For one thing, working at a diner where I get a free meal is just too tempting. For another, I know from past experience that my energy levels are depleted very quickly while fasting.

I’m debating whether to do this part of the detox for another two days or just one, and then eating only raw foods for the remainder of the week…as it is, I am looking longingly at the avocado, nuts, and bananas that are waiting to be eaten in the kitchen. It will be tough…

About Rickie

Just a girl who likes to teach kids, create designs, upcycle, peruse eateries, cook, watch / make / hear music, cuddle with her cats and a bunch of other stuff.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

