Improv Food

A morning like just about any other: I heated up my frying pan and put a touch of canola oil in. Then, I got out other ingredients in order to make myself a nice breakfast of eggs, potatoes and toast. Suddenly, I realized we were out of eggs. My thought processes went something like this:

I guess I could just have some cold cereal. But the oil is almost ready! I’ve gotta fry something! Oh, maybe I could just have some yogurt and flax seed meal [I got the yogurt out and flaxseed meal out]. But the oil! Pan! Must have warm food! There is hot pan!

So here’s what I did:

  1. Heat 1 cup frozen potato / pepper mix (Trader Joe’s) on low heat for 5 minutes
  2. Add 1/2 cup meatless ground beef (Trader Joe’s)
  3. Saute for 3 more minutes
  4. Serve in a bowl
  5. Add a dollop of plain yogurt and a tablespoon of flaxseed meal

It was actually one of my more satisfying breakfasts, pretty tasty. I didn’t feel heavy and sluggish, like I would have with a greasy-spoon type breakfast, but properly energized and ready for the day ahead of me. I love when improvisation bears delicious results.

About Rickie

Just a girl who likes to teach kids, create designs, upcycle, peruse eateries, cook, watch / make / hear music, cuddle with her cats and a bunch of other stuff.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

