Tomatoes

I love tomato-based sauces. Marinara, pico de gallo are amongst my tamer but tasty favorites. Sun dried tomatoes instantly add an unparalleled richness to dishes. They are just wonderful and savory. As a child, I used to bite into whole tomatoes and suck all the juice and seeds out of them, causing the corners of my mouth to bleed. I thought this was a natural thing, but apparently it’s an indicator that I have an intolerance to tomatoes, sadly. Even so, I still love tomatoes and will still occasionally have them in sauces [the more cooked, the better. I have yet to discover the correct physical / chemical change to stop my body from trying to reject it]. Anyway, my intolerance to tomatoes means that if I am to have them raw, they better be worth it. They can’t just be a topping on an iceberg lettuce salad with no flavor.

Supermarket source on the left, local farm source on the right

The first time I tried a tomato that was bursting with flavor, and looked so plump that it literally looked like it was ready to burst, was when my mother decided to grow her own tomatoes. It was a rich red color and so tasty that I didn’t mind the potential harm to my body from whatever chemical reaction my body was going to have to it. Delicious.

About Rickie

Just a girl who likes to teach kids, create designs, upcycle, peruse eateries, cook, watch / make / hear music, cuddle with her cats and a bunch of other stuff.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

